Friends extension allows users to send, accept and reject friend requests which adds more user interaction on your site. This documentation provides instructions on our Friends extension setup.
Once you activate the Friends extension, you will see the Friends tab in [Ultimate Member > Settings > Extensions].
On this page, you can find the following options:
- Show friends stats in member directory – Turn on/off friend stats in member directory
- Show friend button in member directory – Turn on/off friend button in member directory
The extension “Friends” is compatible with the extension “Real-time Notifications“. You can enable/disable and edit friends notifications on the page [Ultimate Member > Settings > Extensions > Notifications].
- User get a new friend request – Turn on/off and customize “New Friend Request Notification” – this sends a notification to user when a new friend request is received.
- User get a new friend – Turn on/off and customize “New Friend Notification” – this sends a notification to user when a friend request gets approved.
Profile Menu settings
The extension adds settings to the page [Ultimate Member > Settings > Appearance > Profile Menu].
These settings allow you to manage the “Friends” item in the profile menu:
- Friends Tab – Allows to enable/disable “Friends” item in the Profile menu.
- Who can see Friends Tab? – Manage access to the “Friends” tab in the Profile menu.
Profile tab “Friends” looks like this:
User Role settings
You can set specific user roles if they can friend other user roles or not in [Ultimate Member > User Roles > Edit User Role].
User Account Settings
Users are also given the option to be notified when they get new friend request.
Users are also given the option to choose friends only for Profile Privacy and Private Messages.